Depending on your plan, minutes are charged from the time your call is connected and continue to accrue until the call is ended. You’re charged for the whole time a caller is on the line with you, even if you put them back on hold or transfer the call to another extension.
If you are not sure what plan you are on, simply log into your Grasshopper account. Click on Settings. You can review your current plan under "Your Pricing Plan".