Yes, you can change your plan on your own, by choosing a new plan from within your account setting page.
If you upgrade your plan, changes will take effect immediately.
If you downgrade your plan, changes will not take effect until the beginning of the next renewal date. For monthly plans, that means the next month's bill date. For annual plans, that means on the annual renewal date.